Image

Strange, because I like to shop and do all of it for our family, I haven’t made any big purchases lately that concern promotions or coupons. Try as I may, I can not get a system for saving down. I can clip coupons, download Cartwheel and get mailers and still not have them organized enough to have them with me when I am actually at the store. Promotional savings that don’t require coupons is where it’s at for me.

I am a loyal Target shopper for lots of reasons. I can get a flu shot, pick up prescriptions, get groceries and a school uniform for the kids all at one spot. To make it more enticing, they have a Rx reward program that you use with your Red Card. This can save you 10% on your total purchase! 

I was in the market for a portable carpet cleaner for some time so I can clean up after the kids and my Germain Shepard Chai. The dining room chairs were looking pretty rough, so I went to Target to pick one out. 

The “Little Green Machine” had a promotion. Buy it and get a $10 Target gift card. I also had Rx Rewards and my Red card. The price was $99 and the gift card brought it down to $89 but 10% off. I got a top of the line cleaner for less money than the cheapest one on the shelves. 

When it comes to shopping online, unless it’s something super important to me, I refuse to pay shipping, so unless it comes with free shipping and a cheap price, I am not biting. I joined Amizon Prime so I don’t have to pay for shipping anymore and it’s 2-day shipping for most purchases. If I am going to shop online, I have to make the mark for getting free shipping. Sure, it may make me spend more money to get up to the merchandise price quota for the free shipping, but I would rather buy an extra sweater than have to pay shipping. 

What is usually find with coupons is that the ones I end up with are for a product I would not normally buy, so I don’t feel like I am missing out on much by not using coupons. Of course I would like to save more money, who doesn’t? For me, unless it’s a reward from Macys, New York and Company, Victorias Secret or a reward card from Target, it ends up in the trash. In-store promotions and clearances are where I find saving for my family.