Image

Support media is used to reach those people in the target market that the primary media may have not effectively reached and to reinforce, or support, their message. We see it without even realizing it at times. In this picture of my car, I am supporting St. Catherine’s University with a car cling on I bought at the bookstore. I bought it to place on my car because I am proud of being a Katie. St. Catherine’s University gets $7.95 from me to buy it. I actually paid them to advertise the school by placing their name and logo on my car. 

St. Catherines University uses a lot of out-of-home support media to call attention to the school and raise awareness and enrollment. There are billboards on the freeway, side streets of St. Paul and Minneapolis. Transit advertising is used on MTC buses, promoting the Weekend/Evening/Online class schedule. Living by the Hamline University Campus, I see the ACTC shuttle bus frequently, also sporting St. Catherine’s name. When I am driving around town I see these same cling on’s on the back of other proud students cars. 

Another form of support media St. Kate’s uses is promotional products. I myself have a stock pile of tee shirts, sweats and sweatshirts. My parents have the “parent of a Katie” tee shirts and magnets on their fridge. The children in my family have a shirt or pants as well. My business portfolio is the classic purple binder from St. Catherine’s. From pens to water bottles, I have some sort of support media from St. Kate’s with me or in my home. 

The downside to the support media, is it’s costly. A cling on piece of plastic cost me $7.95 and a single sweatshirt can be up to $65.00. Another downside is that the audience that would buy a St. Catherine’s cling on for their car is selective. It’s mainly going to be a student that is already going there, or a parent of the student or family member that is going to use it on their car as well. Others may have another school they support or went to, or aren’t interested in an education at St. Catherine’s. 

The upsides of support media on all the different levels I have mentioned far outweigh the downsides. All of it is a creative conversation starter and what woman unhappy with her job would drive by an E/W/O sign and not think about going back to school while she is unhappily driving home in rush hour from her unsatisfying job? The cost of the billboard promotions and the cost of putting an ad on the side of a bus may be expensive, but the amount of tuition it brings in for the college and the buzz it creates is well worth it. St. Catherine’s is the only major private college with a program like E/W/O and let’s not forget what we are really promoting! A top of the line education for an excellent women’s college. Can you really put a price on a great education?